Atmosphere instead of perfection

Searching for my specific look and ways to put more expression into my paintings I tend to overdo my watercolors lately – like in this case from the night before. It is not perfection first I am looking for but a certain atmosphere I´d like to create. I am happy with the environment in this picture, but the house that should be the star of the picture feels out of place, because it is painted with too many layers (looked great when the paint on the paper was still wet, but after drying ist looks dull and crooked). At least I like the color composition of the picture. Pictures like these demonstrate that I am still a beginner with a long way to go for atmosphere paired with perfection.

cw_watercolor_2018_048
048_2018 Watercolor / Fabriano Artistico grana grossa / rough – 300g/m / 140 lbs – ca. 56 x 38 cm / 22.0 x 15.0 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Auf der Suche nach meinem spezifischen Look und Wegen, mehr Ausdruck in meine Pinseleien zu bringen, tendiere ich in letzter Zeit dazu, zu viel des Guten zu tun – wie in diesem Fall aus der aus der vorangegangenen Nacht. Es ist zunächst nicht Perfektion, nach der ich suche, sondern eine bestimmte Atmosphäre, die ich erzeugen möchte. Ich bin mit der Umgebung in diesem Bild ganz zufrieden, aber das Haus, das der eigentliche “Star” dieses Bildes sein sollte, wirkt wie ein Fremdkörper im Bild – wirkt nicht “rund”, weil es mit zu vielen Layern gemalt ist. Das hat noch ganz gut ausgesehen, als die Farbe auf dem Papier noch feucht war, aber nach dem Trocknen wirkt es stumpf und ungekonnt. Zumindest mag ich aber die Farb-Combo des Bildes. Aquarelle wie dieses demonstrieren mir, dass ich eben immer noch Anfänger bin, mit einem weiten Weg vor mir um Atmosphäre und Perfektion eines Tages zum Einklang zu bringen.

 

3 thoughts on “Atmosphere instead of perfection

  1. I think its great! But I always think your work is great. I think the colors on the house are just fine. Maybe the lights in the windows are too white…see…now you have me taking a double take!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment