From my sketchbook

Here are the three latest entries from my sketchbook. They are all pretty different from each other, depending on my mood and because painting in my sketchbook is always playing around, trying something different and new. I had to come back to this waterfall. A few weeks ago I painted this scene on a large format already but I was far from being happy with the result. But I am stubborn – good thing. If something does not turn out the way I like it I try again (and sometimes again, again and again!) I am really happy with this sketch and I am working on another larger version of it. The second sketch is from last night. I woke up in the middle of the night and when I was drinking a glass of water I suddenly had this picture in front of my eyes – the bright house that stands out of the dark (forest – or whatever). I had to paint it the same moment and so I did this little quick one in my sketchbook at 3:30 am. The 3rd one is an old German farmhouse. I just wanted to try out something different this morning.

SONY DSC
025_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Hier sind die drei neuesten Einträge aus meinem Skizzenbuch. Sie sind alle ziemlich unterschiedlich, abhängig von meiner Stimmung und weil das Malen in meinem Skizzenbuch immer etwas Spielerisches ist, bei dem ich auch mal etwas anderes und neues probiere. Ich musste auf diesen Wasserfall noch einmal zurückkommen. Vor ein paar Wochen habe ich das Motiv schon einmal in großem Format gemalt, war aber gar nicht so glücklich mit dem Resultat. Aber zum Glück bin ich stur. Wenn etwas nicht so gelingt, wie ich es mir vorstelle, versuche ich es nochmal (und manchmal nochmal und nochmal und nochmal!) Mit dieser Skizze bin ich aber sehr glücklich und habe ich inzwischen noch einmal an eine größere Version gewagt. Die zweite Skizze ist letzte Nacht entstanden. Ich bin mitten in der Nacht aufgewacht, und als ich aufstand, um ein Glas Wasser zu trinken, hatte ich plötzlich dieses Bild vor Augen: ein helles Haus, dass aus dem Dunkeln (Wald, oder was auch immer) heraussticht. Ich musste das unbedingt festhalten und so habe ich es um 3:30 in der Nacht in mein Skizzenbuch gepinselt. Die dritte Skizze ist ein altes deutsches Bauernhaus – ich wollte heute Morgen einfach mal etwas anders probieren.

SONY DSC
026_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
SONY DSC
027_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

3 thoughts on “From my sketchbook

Leave a comment