Thundery Front

Another watercolor from my nightshift, inspired by the weather of the the last days – does not really feel like summer. It is pretty difficult to get the color density I like on the Fabriano Artistico rough paper. It took some layers to get the structure I was looking for into the sky. First I thought I could just use the paper-white for the lightning but with every new layer to add darkness to the cloud it became more messed up and I had to use Chinese White for it. But this does still feel better for me than using masking fluid.

cw_watercolor_2017_212
212_2017 Watercolor / Fabriano Artistico rough 61 x 45,5 cm / 24´ x 17.9´ / Lukas Aquarell 1862 “Thundery Front”

Ein weiteres Aquarell aus meiner Nachtschicht, inspiriert vom Wetter der letzten Tage, dass sich nicht so richtig nach Sommer anfühlt. Ich finde es ziemlich schwierig, die Farbdichte, die ich mir vorstelle, auf dem rauen Fabriano Artistico hinzubekommen. Es brauchte einige Layer, um die Struktur nach der ich gesucht habe, in den Himmel zu bekommen. Zuerst dachte ich, ich könnte das Papier-Weiß für den Blitz nutzen, aber mit jedem neuen Layer zum Abdunkeln der Wolken verschwamm die ausgesparte Form und ich musste am Schluss Chinesisch Weiß benutzen. Das ist mir aber immer noch lieber, als mit MAskierflüsigkeit zu arbeiten.

Leave a Reply

