Port of Hamburg – DOCK 6 #WORLDWATERCOLORMONTH 27/31

Another motif from my former hometown Hamburg. I wanted to paint this for a long time and last night I did feel brave enough to try. I used a rough pencil sketch that I had drawn a few weeks ago from one of my thousand and thousands Hamburg photos as reference. I don´t need much reference because I am not trying to depict reality… It is more about a feeling. I am pretty happy with the result of this nightshift watercolor and it was really fun to paint. Sometimes when I thought too long about a watercolor before I started it, it becomes a pain to start painting – in this case it was great and I could paint it very loose and easy.

cw_watercolor_2017_207
207_2017 Watercolor / Fabriano Artistico rough 61 x 45,5 cm / 24´ x 17.9´ / Lukas Aquarell 1862 “Port of Hamburg -Dock 6” #worldwatercolormonth 27/31

Ein weiteres Motiv aus meiner früheren Heimatstadt Hamburg. Ich wollte dieses Motiv schon länger malen und letzte Nacht habe ich mich endlich daran getraut. Als Vorlage habe ich eine grobe Bleistiftskizze verwendet, die ich vor einigen Wochen nach einem meiner tausenden Hamburg Fotos gezeichnet hatte.  Da ich ich nicht die Wirklichkeit wiedergeben will, brauche ich keine großartige Vorlage – es geht mir mehr ums Gefühl. Ich bin mit dem Resultat dieses Nachtschicht-Aquarells ziemlich glücklich und es hat wirklich großen Spaß gemacht, es zu malen. Manchmal, wenn ich vorher zulange über ein Motiv nachdenke, fällt es mir schwer, den Anfang zu machen – in diesem Fall war es großartig und ich konnte leicht und locker los malen.

2 thoughts on “Port of Hamburg – DOCK 6 #WORLDWATERCOLORMONTH 27/31

Leave a Reply

