Simplification I (Stages)

From time to time I try to practice simplification of motifs in my watercolors. Reducing the objects to a few color-shapes, trying to use a single brushstroke to simulate an object, trying to set any single brushstroke with full delicacy and concentration and maybe reduce the number of brushstrokes to a minimum. Yesterday I tried it again with this watercolor (based on a rough sketch from a few weeks ago) in preparation for a larger format and both painting-process and result were very pleasant for me. Maybe not as relaxing as my “normal” painting style, because the reduction requires full concentration. (Showing me my limits as a watercolor beginner) Now I am working on the larger format (last picture below) and I think it was a good practice to change the viewpoint from “What I paint” to “How I paint”.

cw_watercolor_2017_164
“Simplification I” 164_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.48 x 36 cm / 18.9 x 14.2 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Von Zeit zu Zeit versuche ich bewusst die Vereinfachung eines Motivs in meinen Aquarellen zu üben. Die Objekte möglichst auf ein paar Farbflächen zu reduzieren, zu versuchen, manche Objekte nur mit einem Pinselstrich zu simulieren, jeden Pinselstrich mit Bedacht zu setzen und die Anzahl der verwendeten Pinselstriche auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren. Gestern war wieder Zeit für einen solchen Versuch (basierend auf einer Skizze von vor ein paar Wochen), als Vorbereitung für ein großformatiges Aquarell. Und beides, sowohl der Mal-Prozess und das Ergebnis sind für mich sehr befriedigend gewesen, wenn auch nicht so entspannend wie meine “normale” Malweise, weil mir die Reduktion sehr viel Konzentration abverlangt (und mir meine Grenzen als Aquarell-Anfänger verdeutlicht). Jetzt arbeite ich an dem größeren Format (letztes Bild unten) und glaube, dass es eine gute Übung war, den Blick von “Was ich male” auf “Wie ich male” zu richten.

105_2017 Watercolor-Sketches
105_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook 21,0 x 29,7 cm / 8.3 x 11.7 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

123456

4 thoughts on “Simplification I (Stages)

  1. Beautiful painting, your color choices are superb and the minimal brushwork is down right perfect. Isn’t it wonderful to take the minimalist approach? I love it, seems to push you forward into being more creative. 😉 by the way, every time I see you calling yourself a beginner, I chuckle! beginner?!! nope

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Margaret. I am very happy with this one. It is far away from painting wild and loose like I normally try to paint. I did enjoy it because I could get into a deep concentration while painting this one – much more than I am usually able to. After the first wash was finished and dried I did really think about almost every single brushstroke. Usally I just let myself go and look what happens. This was really different. Beginner or not… it always depends on the point of view. I am not in a hurry to become a pro. I think I am a passionate beginner. I paint every day and sometimes I think I make some progress. But there is still so much to learn (Which is great) and my results do not look the way I imagined them to be. What comes after being a beginner… maybe the apprentice? And how long does it take to become an apprentice? I think painting and especially painting watercolors does take a long time to learn, to feel really safe and being sure about the medium. For me there is nothing wrong with being or feeling like a beginner. It is a pleasure all the time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I believe that learning watercolor is an on-going forever adventure. I also believe that it isn’t truly possible to absolutely get the look that we envision because as you well know watercolor has a mind of its own. Creating that painting often takes a brave and serendipitous attitude and openness. Fun being passionate about watercolor isn’t it? 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

