Zollern II/IV Colliery

Some time ago, I think it was last year, I visited the Zollern II/IV Colliery, Dortmund, Germany – an old  mining site not too far from here. I made a few sketches back then but did never come back to it since. Last night I decided to paint from one of my pencil roughs when I discovered them flipping through my notebook. I did not get the proportions right but it was good practice in simplification of complex structures. In the middle of the painting process I thought I had lost it and messed it up (I was pretty tired last night) but then I decided to paint a bit more and it turned out okay. The other watercolor was just for staying busy while the first one was drying.

cw_watercolor_2017_120
120_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.48 x 36 cm / 18.9 x 14.2 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 `Zeche Zollern -Dortmund´

Vor einiger Zeit, ich glaube es war letztes Jahr, habe ich mir die Zeche Zollern in Dortmund angesehen und dort ein paar Skizzen gemacht. Ich bin seitdem nie darauf zurückgekommen, aber als ich gestern durch mein Notizbuch blätterte, habe ich sie wiederentdeckt und entschied mich, eine als Vorlage für ein Aquarell zu verwenden. Ich habe zwar die Proportionen nicht ganz hinbekommen, aber es war eine gute Übung zur Vereinfachung komplexer Strukturen. In etwa der Mitte des Malens dachte ich, ich hätte es komplett versaut (ich war letzte Nacht ziemlich müde) aber dann habe ich mich aufgerafft es weiter zu malen und es ist ganz okay geworden. Das andere Aquarell war einfach zum Überbrücken der Wartezeit während das erste trocknete.

cw_watercolor_2017_119
119_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.40 x 30 cm / 15.7 x 11.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
8 thoughts on “Zollern II/IV Colliery

  1. That’s quite the structure.it must have been an interesting challenge to paint. I note that
    you often work several paintings at once.I shall have to work out how to do that too.It could save me from ruining them through impatience. Do you continue to work off the same pallet for both of them?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ich bin eine große Freundin der alten Zechen, habe aber erst die Zeche Zollverein in Essen besichtigt. Ein ganzer Tag hat nicht gereicht, um alles zu skizzieren und innerlich aufzunehmen.
    Mir gefällt dein Aquarell zur Zeche. Es fällt nicht auf, dass die Proportionen nicht stimmen – es ist einer der Mittel des Künstlers für die Dramatik etwas zu überhöhen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Vielen Dank, Susanne. Ja, Zollverein ist natürlich der Klassiker, aber nicht unbedingt der beste Platz für alte Industriekultur. Die Proportionen haben in diesem Fall die Dramatik eher etwas geschwächt. Der Förderturm ist eigentlich viel wuchtiger. Mir ist er hier etwas schmal geraten.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Margaret! 🙂 Yes, the mining is a great part of the history of this area. I did always love the remains – on the other other hand it is good that this time of coal mining and heavy industries is almost over here. A clear blue sky must have been something rare to see in this area back then.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. They are both really interesting and the drama of the work is good reading! The light on the right-hand side of the collier picture — my goodness — that is so marvelous! Both pictures are very fine. What Margaret says about the glowing buildings on the horizon is so true.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

