Plein-Air / Abandoned railway-track – Essen-Dellwig

Thursday, I have been out for plein-air painting today. It was cold outside, but the sun came out and I decided to go in the neighborhood for painting although I was a little bit tired. The area where I live is an old coal mining location. Although most of the industrial architecture is gone you still find a lot of remains. The area is cut by a so many old railway tracks, most of them abandoned today, some still in use. From a bird´s view this might look like some kind of spider-web. I have always been fascinated by railway-tracks, especially the abandoned ones, where nature is growing over the rails again. And so I found this inspiring spot today just a few minutes from my home. I did not finish the painting on location, because it was getting too cold and me becoming too tired after the nightshift. After having some sleep I did finish the watercolor later at home.

cw_watercolor_2017_121
121_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.48 x 36 cm / 18.9 x 14.2 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 Plein-Air / Abandoned railway-track – Essen-Dellwig

Donnerstag, ich war heute draußen zum Malen. Es war kalt, aber die  Sonne kam heute Morgen raus und ich beschloss, in der Nachbarschaft zu malen, obwohl ich ein wenig müde von der Nachtschicht war. Die Gegend in der ich wohne ist ein früheres Zechengelände. Obwohl von der industriellen Architektur kaum etwas übrig ist, findet man doch noch viele Überbleibsel. Die Gegend ist von zahlreichen alten Eisenbahnstrecken zerschnitten, viele von ihnen inzwischen nicht mehr in Gebrauch, während auf anderen von Zeit zu Zeit noch Güterzüge rangiert werden. Von oben sieht das wahrscheinlich wie ein Spinnennetz aus Schienen aus. Ich war immer fasziniert von Bahnstrecken, besonders von den verlassenen, wo die Natur die Schienen schon zu einem großen Teil überwuchert hat. Und so habe ich heute diesen inspirierenden Ort nur ein paar Fußminuten von meiner Wohnung entdeckt. Vor Ort konnte ich das Aquarell nicht fertigstellen, weil ich dann doch bald zu müde von der Nachtschicht wurde und es außerdem immer noch ziemlich kalt war. Nachdem ich dann ausgeschlafen war habe ich das Bild zuhause fertiggestellt.

11 thoughts on “Plein-Air / Abandoned railway-track – Essen-Dellwig

      1. Maybe i am not able to communicate. What i am trying to share is that by cropping the painting i found one could change the focus of where the viewer’s eye is drawn from above the bridge to under and through the bridge. I found that fascinating.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Maybe i am not able to communicate. What i am trying to share is that by cropping the painting i found one could change the focus of where the viewer’s eye is drawn from above the bridge to under and through the bridge. I found that fascinating.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

