Practicing abandonment

I did paint outside at the Unperfekthaus in Essen yesterday. I go to this place in downtown to get out of the isolation of my apartment but I take my love for abandoned houses with me. First I thought I would paint plein-air on the roof top terrace there, but as soon I had my easel put up it started to rain and the wind was blowing. I moved  down to the 3rd floor on the balcony with a roof on top and decided just to practice with my favorite subject and painted these three. I painted them parallel to keep the brushes going – while  one was drying I continued with the other one and so on. I was hoping that this would keep me from thinking about the motif, but it did only work halfway.

cw_watercolor_2017_118
118_2017 Watercolor / Fabriano Artistico rough 61 x 45,5 cm / 24´ x 17.9´ / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Gestern habe ich draußen im Unperfekthaus in Essen gemalt. Ich gehe Montags an diesen Ort in der Innenstadt um eine bisschen aus der Isolation meiner Wohnung herauszukommen, aber ich nehme meine Liebe für verlassene Häuser mit dorthin. Zuerst dachte ich daran, auf der Dachterrasse den Blick über die Stadt zu malen, aber kaum hatte ich meine Staffelei aufgebaut, fing es an zu regnen und ein heftiger Windstoß fegte die Staffelei um. Ich bin dann in den 3 Stock auf den überdachten Balkon umgezogen und beschloss, einfach mit meinem Lieblings-Motiv zu üben. So entstanden diese drei Aquarelle, die ich parallel gemalt habe, um die Pinsel in Bewegung zu halten. Während eines getrocknet ist habe ich an den anderen weitergemalt und so weiter. Ich hatte gehofft, dies würde mich davon abhalten, zuviel über das Motiv nachzudenken, aber das hat nur teilweise geklappt.

cw_watercolor_2017_117
117_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.48 x 36 cm / 18.9 x 14.2 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
cw_watercolor_2017_116
116_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.48 x 36 cm / 18.9 x 14.2 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
10 thoughts on “Practicing abandonment

  1. Now that I know you paint these from imagination and memory I am even more amazed. Each one is so different. The light effects are very striking. And little passages that one discovers while looking at these — like for instance that vertical passage of reflected light on the shadow side of the house on the bottom picture — that shaft of light is so lovely and startling. I love the brilliant pale yellow/pale blue effects of light on the left hand side of the first house too. But each one has several “wow” passages inside the painting. They’re super!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

