Thursday

The night before and the whole Thursday I have been pretty productive. I could not find sleep after my nightshift which is bad for me but was good for my painting output. A few days ago I discovered an old shipyard / ship – graveyard online and did feel inspired by it. I had never heard of it before but it must be pretty famous for people who love abandoned places and ship wrecks: the Staten Island boat graveyard is a marine scrapyard located in the Arthur Kill in Rossville. Should I ever make it to the USA again this would be some place to visit for me. I am thinking about painting some watercolors inspired by this place and here is a first try. The other two watercolors are more or less just practicing. I am trying various painting methods and would like to re-paint some of my abandoned houses trying different brushworks, like painting from dark to bright, wet-in-wet painting etc. The more I practice the more I see how much more there is to learn. ­čÖé While I am writing this I am almost falling asleep. A good hour left until I can go home.

cw_watercolor_2017_110
110_2017 Watercolor / Hahnem├╝hle Anniversary Edition ca.40 x 30 cm / 15.7 x 11.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 @Lukas Farben `Staten Island boat graveyard I`

Letzte Nacht und den gesamten Donnerstag war ich ziemlich produktiv. Ich konnte nach der Nachtschicht nicht schlafen, was schlecht f├╝r mich war aber gut f├╝r meinen Mal-Aussto├č. Vor ein paar Tagen habe ich online eine einen Schiffsfriedhof entdeckt und f├╝hle mich davon ziemlich inspiriert. Ich hatte davon zuvor nichts geh├Ârt, aber dieser Ort muss bei Leuten, die verlassene Orte und Schiffswracks lieben ziemlich ber├╝hmt sein: Staten Island boat graveyard┬á. Sollte ich es irgendwann doch noch einmal in die USA schaffen, w├Ąre das ein Ort, den ich mir gerne ansehen w├╝rde. Ich denke dar├╝ber nach, vielleicht ein paar Aquarelle inspiriert von dieser Location zu malen und hier ist auch schon der erste Versuch. Die anderen beiden Aquarelle sind mehr oder weniger ├ťbungen (wie alles was ich male). Ich probiere ein paar unterschiedliche Methoden des Malens aus und m├Âchte gerne einige von meinen fr├╝heren Bildern von verlassenen H├Ąusern noch einmal malen und dabei unterschiedliche Pinsel-Techniken ausprobieren. (z.B. : von Dunkel zu Hell zu malen, Nass-in-Nass usw.) Je mehr ich ├╝be, umso mehr erkenne ich, wie viel ich noch zu lernen habe. W├Ąhrend ich das hier schreibe, schlafe ich┬ábeinahe ein. In gut einer Stunde kann ich endlich nach Hause.

cw_watercolor_2017_111
111_2017 Watercolor / Hahnem├╝hle Anniversary Edition ca.48 x 36 cm / 18.9 x 14.2 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 Lukas Farben
cw_watercolor_2017_112
112_2017 Watercolor / Hahnem├╝hle Anniversary Edition ca.48 x 36 cm / 18.9 x 14.2 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 ┬┤At the carp pond / Am Karpfenteich┬┤

 

4 thoughts on “Thursday

  1. Beautiful paintings, I always look forward to your posts because I always see something different in your paintings. You’ll love wet in wet, when I paint wet in wet, like today, it allows me to paint nonstop up to 2 hours, sometimes a bit longer. The trick is to completely saturate both sides and then go at it full steam. Have a wonderful weekend and get your rest!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I do believe you could paint in your sleep! But I hope you get some rest — a plentitude of refreshing sleep to recharge your boat painting batteries. These are amazing. The boat is so solid! And the water’s reflection is marvelous — the sense of the plane of water, its clear surface is so powerful. And the house is mystical — like a dream house — telling you to sleep well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Aletha. I did sleep pretty good, indeed. I feel flattered by your kind comments – I could almost start to conceit myself being a great artist! Maybe you can see things I can┬┤t see yet. LOL! Thank you very much for the motivation. ­čÖé

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

