Almost forgotten

I am so tired tonight! Last morning I came home very late after my nightshift because I had to wait for my colleague who was late. Almost two hours later at home make a big difference because I was over the time to find some sleep. The weather was so beautiful today that I decided to spend most of the day on my balcony painting. And relaxing. I only had about 3 hours sleep before going back to work. But I am happy with my painting results (especially #90 turned out the way I was looking for) and the sunshine was good for the mood.

cw_watercolor_2017_090
090_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.40 x 30 cm / 15.7 x 11.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Ich bin so müde heute Nacht! Am letzten Morgen kam ich sehr spät von meiner Nachtschicht, weil ich auf meine Ablösung warten musste, die sich verspätet hatte. Fast zwei Stunden später zu Hause machen für mich einen großen Unterschied, weil ich dann über die Zeit bin und keinen Schlaf finde. Das Wetter war allerdings wunderbar heute und so beschloss ich, den Tag malend auf meinem Balkon zu verbringen. Und entspannend. Ich hatte zwar nur 3 Stunden Schlaf bevor ich wieder zur Arbeit musste, aber ich bin glücklich mit meinen Malresultaten (vor allem die #90 ist ziemlich genau so geworden, wie ich mir das vorgestellt habe) und die Sonne war sehr gut fürs Gemüt.

cw_watercolor_2017_089
089_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.40 x 30 cm / 15.7 x 11.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
14 thoughts on “Almost forgotten

  1. #90 is a lovely, lovely painting but, I like# 89 too-it is so mysterious
    Only- Carsten, How do you get there? do you start from a painted study or work it out in a pencil sketch first or do you work straight from your head!!!!! How do you see where the light will be?
    It is the control over value to achieve composition that i am so taken by. Just awesome-

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The secret is: I make it simple. In most cases my houses have a right and a dark side from one single light source. It is not realistic but effective. I did work with different CGI programms for almost 20 years – that was a pretty good practice in setting up lights This makes it easier for me because I really don´t have to think about it too much.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Two really gorgeous pictures, each with a kind of other worldliness. Perhaps you were painting the Land of Dreams! Let’s hope you get to visit that land the next time without the paint brush — even though these are spectacularly beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

