Practicing tug boats

I am trying to get familiar with tug boats. I guess I prefer the old steam tug boats. Actually I am not really interested in realistic details but more in finding a simple way to paint them. I am happy with the sketch. The watercolor turned out different than it was planned. The boat was getting to dark and I had to wash it out. Now it is probably just looking “interesting” – I am not crazy about it and will give it another try.

078_2017 Watercolor-Sketches
078_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook 21,0 x 29,7 cm / 8.3 x 11.7 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Ich versuche,  mich mit Schlepperbooten vertraut zu machen. Ich glaube, ich mag die alten Dampfschlepper lieber als die modernen. Ich bin auch nicht wirklich interessiert an den realistischen Details. sondern suche nach einem Weg der Vereinfachung in der malerischen Umsetzung. Ich bin ganz glücklich mit der Skizze, das Aquarell ist allerdings nicht so geworden wie geplant. Das Boot war sehr schnell viel zu dunkel geworden und ich musste es auswaschen. Jetzt sieht es wohl höchstens “interessant” aus – ich bin nicht überzeugt und  werde es wohl noch einmal versuchen.

cw_watercolor_2017_088
088_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.40 x 30 cm / 15.7 x 11.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
12 thoughts on “Practicing tug boats

  1. I like your approach to boat details, as there are so many in real life, it makes my mind boggle, being the main reason for me avoiding them. Your boats look very good and detailed enough to convince the viewer, I like that! 👌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess good watercolors are always about simplyfication. I am not good enough. When the viewer thinks there are details although there are none – that would be a good one. Give me 5 more years of practicing – then I might be able to paint he perfect watercolor tugboat (or something else – LOL! ) Thanks so much, Anica! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are very modest Carsten! Your work is beautiful but of course you are the most harsh critic! I could say similar about me, so let’s proceed on this never ending journey and see where it takes us. It’s wonderful to have a “society” of like minded people here on WordPress! Keep up the great work, Carsten 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

