Small harbor pier

Just a few minutes before I go to bed. It is 9:30 am, i am tired from the nightshift but I had to finish the watercolor I started. The scene was developed in the sketch below (no reference) and as so many times I like the sketch better than the final watercolor.But I am satisfied for several reasons. 1. It is probably the most complexe scene I have painted so far (a riverboat, a pier, houses) but it is not overloaded with details. 2. I can always come back to it and paint it again. 🙂 Good night – good day! I am happy to see my parents for dinner tonight.

cw_watercolor_2017_084
084_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.40 x 30 cm / 15.7 x 11.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 /

Nur ein paar Minuten bevor ich ins Bett gehe. Es ist 09:30 und ich bin langsam müde von der Nachtschicht, aber ich musste dieses Aquarell einfach noch fertigstellen. Die Szene habe ich in der Skizze unten entwickelt (ohne Referenz) und wie so oft mag ich die Skizze lieber als das fertige Aquarell. Trotzdem bin ich aus mehreren Gründen zufrieden. 1. Es ist wahrscheinlich die am meisten komplexe Szene, die ich bisher gemalt habe ( ein Riverboot, ein Pier, Häuser), aber sie ist nicht mit Details überladen. 2. Ich kann immer wieder darauf zurück kommen und es noch einmal malen. 🙂 Gute Nacht – guten Tag! Ich freue mich darauf, meine Eltern heute Abend zum Abendbrot zu sehen.

074_2017 Watercolor-Sketches
074_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook 21,0 x 29,7 cm / 8.3 x 11.7 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

 

3 thoughts on “Small harbor pier

  1. Thanks so much, Holly! 🙂 Yes, of course – there will always be a difference – that is what watercolor is about – diversity in any brush stroke. I did just like the sketch better because it has a more mysterious mood to me. But the scene is good for practicing different things and I am already painting another version. I was thinking about a moon lit scene, too… yes, why not… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

