Simplification

I did work a lot on simplification this Weekend, most of it not really worth to show here. The result of it  was a watercolor based on my last sketches. It is completely painted with one large flat brush. I still find it hard to decide when the painting is “finished”, especially when trying to keep things simple. I think, I did like this one better before I added the windows. It is a challenge to believe just in a few brushstrokes. The two sketches are from this morning, just trying on some color combinations.

cw_watercolor_2017_082
082_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.40 x 30 cm / 15.7 x 11.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 /

Ich habe dieses Wochenende viel an Vereinfachung gearbeitet, aber das meiste davon ist es nicht wert hier gezeigt zu werden. Das Resultat ist dieses Aquarell basierend auf meinen letzten Skizzen. Ich finde es nach wie vor kompliziert zu entscheiden, wann  ein Bild “fertig” ist, besonders wenn ich versuche, es so einfach wie möglich zu halten. Ich glaube, ich mochte zum Beispiel dieses lieber, bevor ich die Fenster eingefügt habe. Es ist eine Herausforderung, ein paar Pinselstrichen zu vertrauen. Die beiden Skizzen unten sind von heute Morgen – ich wollte nur ein paar Farbkombinationen ausprobieren.

071_2017 Watercolor-Sketches
071_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
072_2017 Watercolor-Sketches
072_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook 21,0 x 29,7 cm / 8.3 x 11.7 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

 

6 thoughts on “Simplification

Leave a Reply

