A new subject

Last night the break of a few days without painting must have made me brave to try something different. I always wanted to paint an old steamboat and when I painted these last night it felt so easy and natural that I decided that I will remain with this new subject for a while – probably extend it to some other boat types and sceneries. I looked at some historic photographs online and made some rough pencil sketches but decided to paint the watercolor sketch from my memory and do the same with the watercolor. This was a pleasure and I´d rather like to play with it a little bit more. I used a different paper for the watercolor: the Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition – a beautiful paper although the price was low.

064_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 / ´Mississippi Sunset´

Letzte Nacht muss mich die vorhergehende Malpause ermutigt haben, mal etwas anderes auszuprobieren. Ich wollte schon lange mal ein altes Dampfboot malen und als ich mich letzte Nacht daran gewagt habe, fiel es so leicht und kam mir so natürlich vor, dass ich mich entschlossen habe, mich diesem neuen Sujet noch etwas länger zu widmen – ich werde es wohl auf einige andere Boottypen und Szenerien ausweiten. Ich habe mir online ein paar historische Fotos angesehen und ein paar grobe Bleistiftskizzen gemacht, mich dann aber entschieden, die Aquarellskizze aus der Erinnerung zu malen und das Aquarell dann genauso. Das war ein großes Vergnügen und ich möchte sehr gerne noch ein wenig mehr damit herumspielen. Ich habe für das Aquarell ein anderes Papier verwendet: die Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition – ein sehr schönes Papier, obwohl es sehr günstig war.

cw_watercolor_2017_078
078_2017 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Anniversary Edition ca.40 x 30 cm / 15.7 x 11.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 / ´Mississippi Sunset´

 

23 thoughts on “A new subject

  1. Hi Carsten, it will be great to follow your “boats” journey! We live in a coastal town with lots of fishing boats and I am yet to tackle them. I’m sure if you were hear you’d make full use of our little harbour! Love the steam boat 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Carsten, wow. I really love these. the #2 boat is my all time favorite of yours!! love it! the mood, the colors, the tones…… everything just is in such balance, its amazing!
    well done! wondering if we may be seeing more boats, and other subjects in the Future … perhaps?!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Debi! I am really happy with that painting myself. I guess I was in an extra balanced mood, too. Because everything was so easy. I think the whole painting was done in less than 1 hour. You will see different subjects and more boats from me for sure – but I am still addicted to the beauty of abandoned houses and gnarly old trees, too. I am still a beginner in watercolors but I am willing and hoping to widen my horizon.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. your love is older houses; but somehow it translated to that boat. there’s got to be lots of beat up, worn boats at marinas to go look at I bet. You, are very good, at expressing the character of the subject!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My first awareness of riverboats was to see them as an old house. I think we have been talking about Disney before… In “The Rescuers” Madame Medusa (!!!) lives in an abandoned river boat in Devil’s Bayou – this scenery has influenced me for a lifetime. When I think I am ready for it I plan a full-size watercolor homage of this influence. It already appeared in my first computer-game that I finished in the early 1990s. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m trying to find the words…I’m not into boats, or buildings, or many of the subjects you paint per se BUT…your paintings move me somehow. I don’t know how to describe it but they change my mood. Nothing bad. I can’t really explain. This boat for instance – you did a great job and your talent shines through. But it’s not your talent and skill that I’m focusing on. It’s like I want to be there. It’s kind of gloomy and scary and yet I want to be there – same with your old buildings. They’re dark and mysterious and while buildings in general don’t do anything for me, your buildings make me want to be there. I hope you don’t think I’m weird.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much, Carol! It is one of the most beautiful comments I got – so how could I think you are weird!!!? I try to transport my mood with my paintings and it is nice when somebody else has a similar feeling about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

