Testing PicsArt…

This weekend I did not feel for painting watercolors at all. I think I did just need a creative break. I visited an exhibition opening of some local artists yesterday. That was fun. The weather was so nice that I did feel for a long hike afterwards. I was a little bit tired when I came home i the early evening and decided to leave my brushes untouched this Sunday. Instead I did play with the PicsArt app that I had installed on my computer for weeks but never touched it. Somebody did mention it on their blog some time ago and I always wanted to test it. The programms offers some “artistic” filters in a folder they call “Magic”. I think it is a neat little toy to play around and some of the results look intersting at the first sight. What I don´t like is that it is not really interactiv.You load your photo, select a filter and then you have to wait for about 30 seconds until you see the filtered result. After a while it is getting boring and it will never replace my brushes and watercolors, but it might be good to get a different idea about a motive. The output image is scaled down to 1251 x 837 pixels what limits te whole thing for web publishing – for a good print the resolution is too low. Anyway: a nice toy for the days you don´t feel for the “real thing” but still like to indulge in colors. I added some results I created from photos I shot in Marburg and Amsterdam last year.

An diesem Wochenende war mir nicht nach Aquarellmalen. Ich brauchte wohl mal eine kreative Pause. Ich habe am Sonntag eine Vernissage einiger lokaler Künstler besucht. Das hat wirklich Spaß gemacht. Das Wetter war so schön, dass ich mich anschließend zu einem ausgiebigen Spaziergang entschlossen habe. Als ich am frühen Abend nach Hause kam war ich etwas müde und beschloss, die Pinsel ruhen zu lassen. Stattdessen erinnerte ich mich daran, dass ich die App PixArt seit einigen Wochen auf meinem Computer installiert habe, aber noch nicht dazu gekommen war, sie auszuprobieren. Jemand hatte sie vor einiger Zeit mal au seinem Blog erwähnt und ich wollte das Programm schon lange einmal testen. Das Programm bietet einige Kunstfilter, die unter dem Oberbegriff “Magie” versteckt sind. Es ist ein nettes kleines Spielzeug und einige der Resultate sehen auf den ersten Blick erstaunlich aus. Was ich nicht so mag ist, dass das Ganze nicht wirklich interaktiv funktioniert. Man lädt ein Foto, wählt einen der Filter aus und wartet dann etwa 30 Sekunden, bis man das gefilterte Resultat sieht. Nach einer Weile wird das langweilig und wird mir niemals die Pinsel und Aquarellfarbe ersetzen, aber es könnte gut sein, um neue Ideen für die Umsetzung eines Motivs zu bekommen. Das Ausgabeformat scheint auf 1251 x 837 Pixel beschränkt zu sein, damit ist das Ganze auf Veröffentlichung im Internet beschränkt – für einen guten Druck ist die Auflösung zu gering. Trotzdem: ein nettes Spielzeug, wenn einem mal nicht nach dem richtigen Malen ist, man aber trotzdem in Farben schwelgen möchte. Ich füge einige Beispiele an, die ich aus Fotos von Marburg und Amsterdam aus dem letzten Jahr gefiltert habe.

2017-11-3_Marburg
Testing PicsArt1 Marburg
2017-11-3--14-38-04
Testing PicsArt2 Marburg
2017-12-3--08-55-14b
Testing PicsArt3 Marburg
2017-13-3--09-15-30
Testing PicsArt4 Amsterdam
2017-13-3--09-20-10
Testing PicsArt5 Amsterdam
2017-13-3--09-23-02
Testing PicsArt6 Amsterdam
2017-13-3--09-27-25
Testing PicsArt7 Amsterdam
2017-13-3--09-33-31
Testing PicsArt8 Amsterdam
18 thoughts on “Testing PicsArt…

  1. Sieht gar nicht schlecht aus, wenn auch etwas “starr”. Ich empfinde diese Bilder nicht als Konkurrenz für gemalte Bilder, die ja viel lebendiger und komplexer sind, gerade Deine! Allerdings kann ich mir vorstellen, dass diese starken Farbkontraste und harten Strukturen helfen können, ein Bild innerlich zu strukturieren, sodass das Malen davon inspiriert werden könnte. Oder?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dankeschön. Nadia! Es war okay, es einmal auszuprobieren – und vielleicht kann es hilfreich sein, wenn man nach Fotos malt, um Details zu abstrahieren – aber ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob man diese “Inspiration” wirklich braucht.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Margaret. It was okay for filling the painting break with some color – but I am not going back to digital imaging. I found some real magic in painting watercolors – who would eat Tofu if he could have a T-Bone Steak – uupps – I am outing myself as a beaf-eater. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks really nice and I love the colors. I’ve dabbled for years with programs like this for my photos. They are okay and can be fun. I’ve been getting away from this more and more due to being on the computer way too much. I prefer to just have canvas, brushes, and paint in which I am slowing evolving into as an artist. Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much, Anna Louise! I have been into digital imaging for almost 20 years and I am really glad that I am back to the real (painting) thing. This little dabbling around with PicsArt was okay for a few hours – but I am done with it already. It is just the illusion of being creative.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

