My dad´s birthday

Good morning everybody! It is March, 4 at 1:30 am and I am sitting in the office at my nightshift-work. It is pretty quiet tonight and this means that I could get out my watercolor stuff and paint to keep myself awake. I am working in another willow tree sketch to prepare myself for a large format that I am going to paint on Sunday. But now the first washes and splashes have to dry and have time to write this.

Today is my dad´s birthday and I am looking forward to meet my parents and my sister´s family tonight for dinner. I have not seen them for a while, because due to my nightshift work the weekly family lunch is not possible any longer. Unfortunately my dad has an appointment for a surgery 3 days later and I am just wishing him good luck for that.

Last night it has been quiet, too – and I did paint this old barn. I think I might have had too much time spend on it and I feel it is a little bit overdone. It looks better when you see the original painting on paper with the structures and wander over the details from the brush. The attempt to the painting was different from what I usually do. Without any preparing sketch I started to paint in really clear shapes with single colors and then after drying I tried to bring in texture into the shapes with washing out and adding layers. I think it was pretty good so far but I did not trust the result and started to bring in my usual detail brushwork. So the plan with painting a watercolor consisting only of clear shapes got lost on the way. Maybe it is a little bit to colorful, too – I feel a little bit more reduced palette would have been better.

Okay, my sketch is dry now and ready for the next washes and details. Have a nice weekend everybody.

cw_watercolor_2017_072
072_2017 Watercolor / ca.48 x 36 cm / 18.9 x 14.2 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 /

Guten Morgen alle zusammen! Es ist der 4.März um 01:30 und ich sitze im Büro bei meiner Nachtschicht. Es ist ziemlich ruhig heute Nacht und das bedeutet, dass ich mein Aquarell-Zeug auspacken und malen kann, um mich wach zu halten. Ich arbeite gerade an einer weiteren Trauerweiden-Skizze um mich auf ein großformatiges Aquarell vorzubereiten, dass ich am Sonntag malen will. Aber nun muss der erste Farbauftrag samt Gekleckse erst einmal trocknen und ich habe Zeit, meinen Blog zu schreiben.

Heute hat mein Vater Geburtstag und ich freue mich schon, meine Eltern und die Familie meiner Schwester heute Abend zum Abendessen zu sehen. Ich habe sie für ein Weilchen nicht gesehen, weil durch meine Nachtarbeit das wöchentliche Familien-Mittagessen leider nicht mehr möglich ist. Leider hat mein Vater drei Tage später einen Termin für eine OP und ich wünsche ihm dafür alles Gute.

Letzte Nacht war es hier auch ziemlich ruhig und ich habe diese alte Scheune gemalt. Vielleicht habe ich etwas zu viel Zeit darauf verwendet, denn es kommt mir etwas übertrieben vor. Es sieht besser aus, wenn man das Aquarell im Original auf Papier mit seiner Struktur sieht und über die Details schweifen kann. Der Ansatz bei diesem Aquarell war anders als ich üblicherweise male. Ohne eine vorbereitende Skizze habe damit begonnen, klare große Flächen mit einzelnen Farben zu malen und dann, als diese getrocknet waren, versucht, Texturen hineinzubringen, indem ich mache Stellen wieder ausgewaschen und Farblayer eingefügt habe. Bis zu einem gewissen Punkt war das ziemlich gut aber dann habe ich ein wenig das Vertrauen in das Resultat verloren und begonnen, meine üblichen Pinseldetails einzufügen. So ging die ursprüngliche Idee, das Aquarell nur aus klaren Flächen aufzubauen, auf der Strecke verloren. Es ist vielleicht auch ein wenig zu bunt geworden – ich bin der Meinung, eine etwas reduziertere Palette wäre besser gewesen.

So, meine Skizze ist nun getrocknet und bereit für das Weiterpinseln. Ich wünsche Euch ein schönes Wochenende.

SONY DSC
048_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook 21,0 x 29,7 cm / 8.3 x 11.7 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 /
4 thoughts on “My dad´s birthday

  1. maybe, maybe, maybe, but your painting of the barn is beautiful no matter that you got somewhat detailed. i look forward to seeing the willows.
    I am so glad you and your sister can get together with your dad for his birthday. i wish him the best and hope his surgery goes well too. He is so lucky to have you and you to still have him.
    Enjoy your evening!
    Holly

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

