Weeping willow 1

I always wanted to paint a weeping willow tree and here are my first attempts. Although drawing and painting was fun I think I come back to it. I think this splashing technique would be good to capture the hanging branches and leafs without going too much into details but it needs some practice to get more control over the splashes. I will probably try it on a large sheet this weekend – this might be fun.

SONY DSC
Pencil sketch for `Weeping willow 1´

Ich wollte mich schon immer mal an einer Trauerweide versuchen und hier sind meine ersten Versuche. Obwohl das Zeichnen und Malen viel Spaß gemacht hat, denke ich, ich werde noch ein paar weitere Versuche unternehmen. Die Spritztechnik scheint ganz gut zu sein, um die hängenden Äste und Blätter darzustellen, ohne zu sehr ins Detail zu gehen, aber es braucht einiges an Übung, um mehr Kontrolle über die Spritzer zu bekommen. Ich werde mich wohl am Wochenende mal an ein großes Blatt wagen – das könnte Spaß machen.

SONY DSC
047_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook 21,0 x 29,7 cm / 8.3 x 11.7 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 /
cw_watercolor_2017_071
071_2017 Watercolor / ca.48 x 36 cm / 18.9 x 14.2 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 /
10 thoughts on “Weeping willow 1

      1. Well if I remember well from when my grandfather told me Chinese fairytales, it goes like this, (but I’ll give you a MUCH shortened version): There was a Prince who was in love with a poor peasant girl but of course his parents were against it. One night they were going to run away together and their meeting point was beside a river. He never turned up and, heartbroken, she threw herself in the river. He did managed to break away from his guards and when he found out she killed herself, he started crying and turned into a willow tree, whose branches are always floating on the water, looking for his love…
        Hope you liked it although now I feel like crying…but most Chinese fairy tales have quite a tragic ending!

        Liked by 2 people

      1. You’re right of course. It reminds me that I haven’t seen a willow tree in a long time – they mustn’t be very common where I live but the next time I do – I’ll definitely try to paint it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

