Dancing in the storm

Some sketches from the last days. I always wanted to paint these hanging traffic lights (a memory from my last trip to the USA when I visited my wife – you don´t see that here in Germany) and now I finally did in this sketch.

SONY DSC
044_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Ein paar Skizzen aus den letzten Tagen. Ich wollte schon lange diese hängenden Ampeln malen (eine Erinnerung von meinem letzten Besuch bei meiner Frau in den USA), denn die sieht man hier in Deutschland so nicht. Und nun habe ich es endlich in dieser Skizze gewagt. 🙂

SONY DSC
043_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
SONY DSC
042_2017 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
12 thoughts on “Dancing in the storm

    1. Thanks so much, Holly! You are right. Learning watercolors is like learning a foreign language. It is pretty easy to learn some vocabulary and try to talk a little bit. But it is a long way to become able to make a speech. I feel that my vocabulary is getting better with every painting – but there is still a long way to go until the speech is going to be impressive. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. your command of English and German puts me to shame and you are right it, painting in watercolor, is like learning a language too. There is so much i want to say and haven’t the vocabulary to express. Watching you work has given me renewed incentive to work harder. I guess I might say you are my watercolor hero right now. I keep working at little studies but i want to work big and i’m not ready i still don’t know what the pigments are going to do or how to control the degree of wetness. Right now i have a desk covered with messes.-arrgh!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You put me to shame, Holly. Have a desk covered with messes? I have this feeling, too, at least once a week – and I foresee it will remain for some time. But what I learned lately might help you too. Whenever I get the feeling I am just producing a mess on the paper I get my cheap sketchbooks out and start something extra messy!!! Let the colors splat wherever they want to, squeeze the brush through it and let it just happen. This is the best way of painting watercolors when I lose control over it completely-and sometimes I learn something from it that is so much better than trying to paint accurate.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Really like the traffic light sketch! It seems like a bit of a departure for you from what I’ve become more familiar with seeing – I think it’s really successful, are you tempted to do more similar scenes?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

