Facing the storm

I worked on this one two nights. I am not really happy with my brushworks at the house. I had to block in more darks after I decided to overpaint the sky, became too anxious  with the brush and messed it up. Anyway I am happy with the overall mood of the picture. I´ll probably come back to the motive after a while because it is one of my favorites. My very first watercolor about 2 and a half years ago was about the same motive. 🙂

I repost my latest sketches below that helped to develop the motive and prepare the watercolor.

cw_watercolor_2017_060
060_2017 Watercolor / Canson Montval 40,0 x 50,0 cm – 15.7`x 19.7`/ Lukas Aquarell 1862 / ´Facing the storm´

An diesem Aquarell habe ich die letzten zwei Nächte gearbeitet. Ich bin nicht ganz glücklich mit meiner Pinsel-Arbeit am und um das Haus. Ich musste es abdunkeln, nachdem ich mich entschlossen hatte, den Himmel zu übermalen, und habe es dann ein wenig “versaut”. Trotzdem bin ich aber mit der Gesamtstimmung des Bildes ganz zufrieden. Ich werde wohl später noch einmal auf das Motiv zurückkommen, denn es ist eines meiner Lieblings-Motive. Mein allererstes Aquarell von vor etwa zweieinhalb Jahren war ein ähnliches Motiv.

Ich re-poste unten meine letzten Skizzen, die der Motiv-Entwicklung und der Vorbereitung für das Aquarell dienten.    .

8 thoughts on “Facing the storm

  1. So very powerful. i like the glint of light on the power lines behind the house.That is pure genius. Of course it is not the best you can do-you will always be striving for better. It is simply excellent in its own right! Enjoy your painting. Don’t be too humble!!!!
    Holly

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

