About Alison Krauss and sketching

Although she is a huge star in the United States and won 27 Grammy Awards so far (her upcoming album might make it 28) Alison Krauss seems to be almost completely unknown here in Germany. I probably heard her voice in the year 2000 in the soundtrack from the movie O Brother, Where Art You? by the Coen Brothers – not knowing who was singing the traditional “Down to the River to Pray” with this angel-like voice. But not much later, in 2001 I bought a CD of her and her band Union Station, called “New Favorite”. Well, this record became a new favorite of mine. I bought this album because I was interested in playing Dobro / Slide guitar that time and Jerry Douglas, probably the best Dobro player the world has ever seen, is member of the band Union Station. And Dan Tyminski, who sang the awesome “I am a man of Constant Sorrow” in the Coen Brother´s movie is also part of the band, completed by Ron Block and Barry Bales. The album “New Favorite “probably played a several hundred times during the years in my CD player. But it took me another 10 years to become a real fan of Alison Krauss and Union station when I discovered their album “Paper Airplane” in 2012. Since then I got almost every record she and the other band members ever produced and became a fan of this kind of bluegrass music. The reason I mention this here is because music means a great inspiration for my watercolor painting. I listen to a lot of different music styles, from jazz to rock, from Classic to Folk – but Alison Krauss´ music is probably what I listen to most of the time when I am painting. Her music and voice brings me into a special and spiritual mood that is pretty inspiring. I thought I should mention that here along with these two little sketches from this morning that I painted listening to her. 🙂

SONY DSC
483_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Obwohl sie in den USA ein großer Star ist und bislang mit 27 Grammy Awards ausgezeichnet wurde ( ihr demnächst erscheinendes Album macht es dann wahrscheinlich zu 28), scheint Alison Krauss hier in Deutschland weitestgehend unbekannt zu sein. Ich habe ihre Stimme wahrscheinlich im Jahr 2000 zum ersten Mal in dem Soundtrack des Coen-Brüder Films „O Brother, Where Art You?“ gehört, ohne zu wissen, wer da mit engelsgleicher Stimme das Traditional „Down the River to Pray“ singt. Aber nicht viel später, im Jahr 2001 kaufte ich eine CD von ihr und ihrer Band Union Station mit dem Titel „New Favorite“. Nun, diese CD wurde wirklich mein neuer Favorit. Ursprünglich hatte ich das Album gekauft, weil ich mich zu der Zeit sehr für das Dobro-/Slide Gitarre Spielen interessierte und Jerry Douglas, der wahrscheinlich beste Dobro Gitarrist aller Zeiten, ist zufällig Mitglied der der Band Union Station. Ebenso wie Dan Tyminski, der schon das wunderbare „I am a man of constant sorrow“ in dem Coen Brüder Film gesungen hatte, und komplettiert durch Ron Block und Barry Bales. Im Lauf der Jahre ist das Album „New Favorite“ wahrscheinlich einige hundert Mal in meinem CD Player gelaufen. Aber es dauerte fast 10 Jahre, um wirklich ein Fan von Alison Krauss und Union Station zu werden, als ich ihr Album „Paper Airplane“ im Jahr 2012 entdeckte. Seitdem habe ich fast jede Platte die sie und die anderen Bandmitglieder jemals gemacht haben, gehört und wurde ein Fan dieser Art von Bluegrass Musik. Der Grund, warum ich das hier erwähne ist, dass Musik im Allgemeinen eine großartige Inspirationsquelle für meine Aquarellmalerei ist. Ich höre sehr viele unterschiedliche Musikrichtungen von Jazz zu Rock, von Klassik zu Folk – aber Alison Krauss´ Musik ist wohl diejenige, die ich am meiste beim Malen höre. Ihre Musik und ihre Stimme bringen mich immer in eine sehr spezielle und etwas spirituelle Stimmung, die ich sehr inspirierend finde. Ich dachte, ich sollte dies hier auch einmal erwähnen – zusammen mit diesen beiden kleinen Skizzen, die ich heute Morgen gemalt habe, während ich Alison Krauss gehört habe. 🙂

SONY DSC
484_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
14 thoughts on “About Alison Krauss and sketching

  1. Beautiful paintings, fun hearing about what you listen to while painting. I think that she has also sang and have made an album with Robert Plant. I love the meshing of their voices. I haven’t listened to her too much but now I will pay more attention and listen to her music.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, this “Raising Sand” album with Robert Plant was great, too. Their voices are so different that it was a very special experience to hear. Like I said: here in Germany Alison Krauss and the bluegrass music is pretty unknown. To me it is a great gift and I very inspiring. Thanks so much, Margaret! I just like to share where my inspiriation (beside the visual) Comes from.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have the Feeling that it is not interesting for most people here – maybe it seems to old fashioned to them. It does not matter for me what other people think about. But with not being that popular here the chances are small to see her in concert here in Germany. There has been one a few years ago that I missed – unfortunately.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

