Indian Summer Shades

SONY DSC
229_2016 Watercolor ´Indian Summer Shades´ / Arches rough – ca. 76 x 56 cm / 29.9 x 22.0 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

I started and finished this full sheet yesterday which was a beautiful experience. It was the first time I worked on Arches rough paper. I really did not know what to expect and the result turned out a little bit different than planned. But I guess it is okay. Painting a full sheet is so different from playing around in my sketchbooks – it is full concentration, it is almost sport and much more physical because I paint standing and moving around all the time. While it became easy for me to get a satisfying result in my sketchbook it is much harder to achieve this on a full sheet. I still need so much more practice with it and this weekend is the chance to get some. I am already working on another piece (and try to get it finished today).

Ich habe dieses Vollformat gestern begonnen und fertiggestellt, was eine großartige Erfahrung war. Es war das erste Mal, dass ich auf Arches rauh gearbeitet habe. Ich wusste nicht genau, was mich erwartet und das Resultat ist etwas anders als ich erwartet habe. Aber ich denke, es ist okay. Das Malen eines großen Blattes ist so unterschiedlich zu den Spielereien in meinen Skizzenbüchern – es bedeutet volle Konzentration, es ist fast Sport und hat etwas physisches, weil ich die ganze Zeit stehe und dabei herumlaufe. Während es ziemlich leicht geworden ist, ein befriedigendes Resultat in meinen Skizzenbüchern hinzukriegen ist es viel schwerer für mich, dass auf einem Großformat zu erreichen.  Ich brauche so viel mehr Übung und dieses Wochenende werde ich dafür nutzen. Ich arbeite schon an dem nächsten Blatt (und werde versuchen, es auch heute fertigzustellen).

16 thoughts on “Indian Summer Shades

Leave a Reply

