More expression

SONY DSC
278_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

I am trying to add more expression to my brushwork. My practicing in abstracts helps pretty good with it – that was what I was hoping for. I try to use the brush with all shapes it can have and try to forget about the motive itself when I start painting. Hard times for my brush probably – a good time for me. I have never been so pleased with my painting before. 🙂

SONY DSC
279_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Ich versuche, noch mehr Ausdruck in meine Pinselarbeit zu bringen. Meine Übungen in abstrakter Malerei scheinen mir dabei sehr hilfreich zu sein – das war, was ich mir davon erhofft habe. Ich versuche, den Pinsel mit allen möglichen Formen, die er bietet, zu benutzen und das Motiv selbst zu vergessen, wenn ich mit dem Malen beginne. Harte Zeiten für meinen Pinsel – eine gute Zeit für mich. Ich war vorher noch nie so in meinem Element beim Malen. 🙂

SONY DSC
280_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862
8 thoughts on “More expression

  1. Great work here – I’ve found painting standing up with the easel an arms length away, and holding the brush as high up the handle as possible a good way of loosening up my brush strokes! Feels weird at first, and there’s also a real sense of not having much control at all, but it’s definitely led to some livelier brush work and has helped me stop ‘fiddling about’ quite so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

