Serenity Prayer

SONY DSC
249_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 / `Serenity Prayer` – a little morning practice from my sketchbook.

God, give me grace to accept with serenitythe things that cannot be changed,Courage to change the things which should be changed,and the Wisdom to distinguish the one from the other.

The Serenity Prayer became an important life motto for me a few years ago. It is not always easy to keep the words in mind and even less easier to follow them but it is working better with time. I did call this sketch ` Serenity prayer ´because I had a feeling of complete serenity when I painted it this morning. Pretty often I am not really happy with the results of my painting efforts but I have the feeling that serenity is probably one of the most important ingredients for satisfying painting experiences. At least I am very happy with this little morning practice.

Gott, gib mir die Gelassenheit, Dinge hinzunehmen, die ich nicht ändern kann, den Mut, Dinge zu ändern, die ich ändern kann, und die Weisheit, das eine vom anderen zu unterscheiden.

Das Gelassenheitsgebet ist im Lauf der letzten Jahre zu einem wichtigen Lebensmotto für mich geworden. Es ist nicht immer leicht, sich die Worte ins Gedächtnis zu rufen und noch weniger leicht, ihnen immer zu folgen, aber mit der Zeit klappt dies immer besser. Ich habe dieses Aquarell „Serenity Prayer“ genannt, weil ich heute Morgen beim Malen das Gefühl der absoluten Gelassenheit verspürte. Ziemlich oft bin ich nicht wirklich glücklich mit den Resultaten meiner Mal-Bemühungen, aber ich habe das Gefühl, dass Gelassenheit vielleicht eine der wichtigsten Zutaten für ein befriedigendes Mal-Erlebnis ist. Zumindest bin ich mit dem Ergebnis dieser kleinen Morgenübung sehr zufrieden.

5 thoughts on “Serenity Prayer

  1. Hello there, I’m not an artist (my son is!) but I enjoyed your works of art! I love the interplay of different shades of colors, you are indeed a prolific artist, a gifted one! It seems you never run out of inspiration. Yes, you’re right, I sensed your ‘serenity’ when you did one of my favorite prayers! You can use so many different contrasting & harmonious vibrant hues in your paintings/sketches. I’ll make sure I will share your post with my artist son. Surely, he’ll be inspired! I love your accompanying posts as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Lola? Eilynne? Sorry, I could not make sure what your name is. Painting is my way to achieve this (so much needed) serenity. I might not be happy with the result of the painting (but I have to accept what it is) but the painting process with watercolor gives me serenity always when I let myself go.

      Like

Leave a Reply

