Port of Hamburg

SONY DSC
224_2016 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Mould-made rough – ca. 24 x 32 cm / 9.4 x 12.6 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 / ´Hamburg – Blohm & Voss´

I did live in Hamburg for 20 years before I came back to the Ruhr area in 2011. I know a lot of people who think that Hamburg is Germany´s most beautiful city and I agree that it is an awesome place. Since I left there I have only been there once again to visit the 50th anniversary of the famous Star-Club in 2012. I would rather like to go there again for a few days to see some old friends and paint at the river Elbe and the harbor, but time is going by so fast and there are a lot of other places I would like to visit, too. But I still think of Hamburg a lot and I would like to paint some of my favorite locations in the nearer future. Yesterday I started with the first one – a view over the river Elbe to the swimming docks of Blohm & Voss. I drew a very rough pencil sketch of the scene using some old photos from my stock as a reference. The watercolors were then painted with the pencil sketch as only reference.

SONY DSC
cw_pencil2016_011 / Leuchtturm 1917 notebook / 145 x 210 mm Value-sketch

Ich habe 20 Jahre in Hamburg gelebt bevor ich 2011 zurück ins Ruhrgebiet gekommen bin. Ich kenne viele Leute, die Hamburg für Deutschlands schönste Stadt halten und ich stimme zu, dass es ein atemberaubender Platz ist. Seit ich dort weggezogen bin habe ich es leider erst einmal wieder dorthin geschafft – das war 2012 zum 50 jährigen Jubiläum des berühmten Star-Clubs. Ich würde wirklich gerne mal wieder für ein paar Tage dorthin, um alte Freunde zu besuchen und an Elbe und Hafen zu malen, aber die Zeit vergeht so rasend schnell und es gibt noch so viele andere Plätze, die ich gerne besuchen und malen möchte. Aber ich denke immer noch oft und gerne an Hamburg und deshalb möchte ich in näherer Zukunft einige meiner Lieblingsplätze von dort malen. Gestern habe ich mit dem ersten davon begonnen – ein Blick über die Elbe zu den schwimmenden Docks der Blohm & Voss Werft. Ich habe zunächst eine sehr grobe Bleistiftskizze nach einigen meiner alten Fotos in mein Notizbuch gezeichnet. Für die beiden Aquarelle habe ich dann lediglich meine Skizze als Vorlage verwendet.

SONY DSC
232_2016 Watercolor-Sketches / Paper: Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 / ´Hamburg – Blohm & Voss´
11 thoughts on “Port of Hamburg

    1. Thanks so much, Michael! 🙂 So we have something in common: Hamburg, Horst Janssen… and Felix, who is an awesome artist. Horst Janssen has deeply impressed and influenced me since I discovered him and his works in a exhibition in Vienna!!! in 1982. The exhibition´s catalogue “Albertina Wien / Horst Janssen. Zeichnungen” is still one of my favorite art-books.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Margaret! I tried to make the complex scene as simple as possible. It was good to paint with the rough pencil sketch as my only reference – that made it much easier. Details about my time in Hamburg could probably fill a row of books – but I live today and i am not really into auto-biography! LOL! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You always have a new painting to show off! Do you paint something new every day? I so admire your ability to show the world through watercolors. Your talent is much appreciated by followers like me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! I’ve seen it first hand because my granddaughter lives there and we visited 2 years ago and saw as much as we could. It is indeed a beautiful place! Thanks for the memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

