More from the weekend

SONY DSC
221_2016 Watercolor / Fabriano artistico satinized – ca. 76 x 56 cm / 29.9 x 22.0 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 /

Although I had to work on Sunday I still found a lot of time for painting last weekend. After my other large format `Riverside´ was finished I thought it would be a good idea to go directly to another full sheet that was based on my sketch of the foggy river. The process of painting a full sheet is still something really special for me, because I feel I need much more practice. Although the painting process is really fun I think that my full sheets still fall apart a little bit compared to my sketches. Below are a few sketches that I painted to warm up when I came home from work.

SONY DSC
228_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 / “Foggy River”
SONY DSC
231_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

Obwohl ich am Sonntag arbeiten musste habe ich am Wochenende doch viel Zeit zum Malen gefunden. Nachdem mein Großformat „Riverside“ fertig war, dachte ich, es wäre eine gute Idee direkt ein neues Großformat anzufangen, basierend auf meiner Skizze „foggy river“ weiter unten. Der Prozess des Malens eines Großformats ist für mich immer noch etwas Besonderes, weil ich darin noch sehr ungeübt bin. Auch wenn der Malprozess dabei sehr viel Spaß macht, habe ich das Gefühl, dass meine großformatigen Arbeiten immer etwas „auseinander fallen“ und nicht so geschlossen wie meine Skizzen sind. Da hilft nur üben. Weiter unten noch ein paar Skizzen, die ich zum Aufwärmen gemalt habe, als ich von der Arbeit nach Hause kam.

SONY DSC
227_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862 / “Creek” – from a photograph by Margaret Parker Brown.
5 thoughts on “More from the weekend

Leave a Reply

