Start the day with something ´wild´…

SONY DSC
225_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in / Lukas Aquarell 186

I did really enjoy my day off yesterday. Due to the fact that I have to spend this Sunday in the office at work, where I am writing these lines during my lunch-break, I had to concentrate most of my watercolor activities on this one Saturday. I decided to start the day with something ´wild´ and did hope for something abstract coming out. But it was clear after a few minutes that it would develop into another tree. Don´t get me wrong: I am happy with the result. But I have absolutely no idea how to start and finish an abstract painting! LOL!!! After this ´failure´ I did feel warmed up to finally start another full-sheet and I did paint on it for several hours. I got it almost finished last night but I think I will add some details when I come home from work and will post it later.

Below you find a few pictures from my tree sketch process, which was really fun, even if I did not turn out as my plan was.

 

Ich habe meinen freien Tag gestern richtig genossen. Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass ich den heutigen Sonntag im Büro auf der Arbeit verbringen muss (wo ich gerade diese Zeilen während meiner Mittagspause schreibe), blieb mir keine andere Wahl, als meine Aquarell-Aktivitäten auf diesen einen Samstag zu konzentrieren. Ich beschloss, mit etwas „Wildem“ zu beginnen und erhoffte mir dabei eigentlich ein abstraktes Resultat. Aber schon nach ein paar Minuten stand fest, dass es ein weiteres Bild von einem Baum werden würde. Versteht mich nicht falsch: Ich bin zufrieden mit dem Ergebnis. Aber ich habe keinen blassen Schimmer, wie man ein abstraktes Aquarell beginnt und fertigstellt! LOL!!! Nach diesem „Versagen“ fühlte ich mich aber zumindest aufgewärmt, um endlich wieder ein großformatiges Aquarell zu beginnen und habe einige Stunden daran gemalt. Ich bin gestern Abend fast damit fertig geworden, aber ich denke, ich werde noch einige Details hinzufügen, wenn ich nach Hause komme und es dann später posten.

Unten findet Ihr ein paar Bilder von der Entstehung meiner Baum Skizze, die wirklich Spaß gemacht hat, auch wenn der ursprüngliche Plan anders war.

7 thoughts on “Start the day with something ´wild´…

      1. Let’s see, first I make sure I am not in a picky/critical mood, it only goes against you being free. I use a reference photo as an inspiration, I put on some good music, use fresh paint (for me I prefer fresh paint than dried paint in wells), have a spray bottle ready, look for the “heart” of your abstract….all good abstracts has a heart, I believe. and just build on it, if you are feeling picky or trying to fiddle with it….stop. Abstract is pure feeling and reaction, also I like to tap into the “knowing” what to do, put a color here or there but more of a gut feeling. Don’t give up, it takes a bit to get into that space. Imagine a beautiful evening with no worries and a magical moment that you would tuck away in your memory….this is where you should be when painting an abstract. Hope I helped 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I forgot to mention to you….it is important to stand while painting! I am sure that you probably already do that but it keeps your perspective on its toes, so to speak and your arm to be in that free motion…..

        Like

  1. Deine Skizzen wirken auf mich ohnhin immer, als wären es riesige Bilder. Ich kann immer gar nicht glauben, dass sie “nur” in dem kleinen Skizzenbuch zu finden sind. Sie wäre alle auch in Groß perfekt!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Vielen Dank, Bille! Ich wünschte, ich könnte meine Art zu malen 1:1 von meinen Skizzen auf das große Blatt übertragen – dann wäre ich um einiges zufriedener. Ich habe mal ein paar meiner Skizzen in großem Format drucken lassen und war ganz begeistert, weil sie in groß och mehr Dynamik haben. Das gelingt mir bei den “Großen” noch nicht so, aber ich arbeite daran. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

