Alps & intense colors

SONY DSC
214_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in – ´Alpträumchen´ – kleine Mitternachtspinselei.

I started my week with some sketching. The first one from the night from Sunday to Monday was to try capturing some Alp impression. To be honest – I have not been there since I was a kid. But some days ago I found a postcard in my postbox from an old friend who is there on vacation and it did inspire me to try a little painting. I would rather like to go on a hiking tour, crossing the Alps from Gmund near Munich to Sterzing in South Tyrol, with a lot of time for plein-air painting. One of the most positive aspects of sketching and painting is that you can dream yourself to any place in the world.

I am trying to intensify my colors in my landscape sketches as you might see in the other two sketches from Monday. The paper of my Daler-Rowney Graduate sketchbook allows only 2 or 3 wet layers before it starts to disintegrate – so this is a really good practice for intense colors with a small amount of brushstrokes. I am still searching for different formulas to paint grass and meadowland. I always come back to draw some lines – it is something (of the many things) I have to practice more.

 

SONY DSC
215_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in

Ich habe meine Woche mit ein paar Skizzen begonnen. Die erste, aus der Nacht von Sonntag auf Montag, diente, um ein bisschen Alpen Atmosphäre einzufangen. Um ehrlich zu sein: ich bin seit meiner Kindheit nicht mehr dort gewesen. Aber vor ein paar Tagen fand ich eine Postkarte von einem alten Freund in meinem Briefkasten, der dort gerade seine Ferien verbringt. Das hat mich zu diesem kleinen Aquarell inspiriert. Ich würde sehr gerne einmal auf eine Wandertour gehen, die Alpen überqueren von Gmund bei München nach Sterzing in Südtirol, mit jeder Menge Zeit und Gelegenheit für viel Plein-Air Malerei. Einer der schönsten Aspekte des Skizzierens und Malens ist es, dass man sich an jeden Platz der Welt träumen kann.

Ich versuche, die Farben in meinen Landschaftsskizzen zu intensivieren, wie man an den anderen beiden Skizzen vom Montag erkennen kann. Das Papier meines Daler-Rowney Graduate Skizzenhefts erlaubt nur 2 bis 3 nasse Farbaufträge, bevor es sich in seine Bestandteile auflöst – so ist es eine ganz gute Übung, eine intensive Farbigkeit mit möglichst wenig Pinselstrichen zu erreichen. Ich suche noch nach verschiedenen Formeln um Gras und Weideland darzustellen. Momentan ertappe ich mich noch immer dabei, dass ich dazu Linien zeichne – das ist eines der vielen Dinge, die ich noch weiter üben muss.

SONY DSC
216_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in
10 thoughts on “Alps & intense colors

Leave a Reply

