Somewhere in the South

SONY DSC
218_2016 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Mould-made rough – ca. 24 x 32 cm / 9.4 x 12.6 in

This was a pretty relaxed evening painting. I did the value sketch before in in the office but as you might see I don´t follow my sketches too precise. It is more for getting an idea of shadow and light in the scene. When I started the watercolor I had the feeling that the layout should be a little bit different, a little bit more ´open´. I tried to keep my brush as dry as possible, to leave some paper white coming through here and there to simulate some reflections of sunlight the easy way. I rather like to paint scenes like that without any reference. It is a little bit like dreaming myself to another place.

SONY DSC
cw_pencil2016_010 / Leuchtturm 1917 notebook / 145 x 210 mm Value-sketch.

Dies hier war eine ziemlich entspannte Abend-Malerei. Die kleine Value-Skizze hatte ich zuvor im Büro gemacht, aber wie man sehen kann, folge ich meinen Skizzen nicht zu genau. Sie sind hauptsächlich dazu gedacht, mir vorher Gedanken über Licht und Schatten sowie die groben Formen zu machen. Als ich mit dem Aquarell begann hatte ich das Gefühl, dass das Layout etwas anderes, etwas „offener“, sein sollte. Ich versuchte, meinen Pinsel so trocken wie möglich zu belassen, um hier und da etwas Papier-Weiß freizulassen und so auf einfache Weise Reflektionen des Sonnenlichts zu simulieren. Ich mag es sehr gerne, Szenen wie diese ohne Vorlage zu malen. Es ist ein bisschen, als würde ich mich an einen anderen Ort träumen.

4 thoughts on “Somewhere in the South

  1. I like your painting more than the sketch, seems like this approach is working for you, love the openness of your scene, shows off the house and the serenity. I love the south, you said that you have been to Louisiana? Love the food and the swamps are very creepy and the humility! wow…..I remember that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Margaret! I agree with you about the sketch and the watercolor – I like the watercolor much better, too – but the sketch was helpful. I have been to Louisiana, but (like most journeys i did) it is a while ago. It has been years before Katrina, probably the second half of the 90´s. But it has been pretty impressive, the land, the people, the music and the food. I am a big fan of the Cajun cuisine since then and still love to cook Jambalayas and Gumbos – and once ruined my pan trying blackened fish. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

