Day 26 #worldwatercolormonth

SONY DSC
My 26-2/31 ‪#‎worldwatercolormonth‬ //213_2016 Watercolor / Lukas Bali mould made rough – ca.40 x 30 cm / 16´x 12´ in Late night practice.

I am enjoying the last week of the #worldwatercolormonth. Last night I painted these two pictures on Lukas Bali paper. These were the last 2 sheets I had of this paper – and I am still not sure if I love or hate it. It is some kind of torchon paper, pretty rough with a nice textured surface but I found it pretty challenging to work on it because you have to be extra careful with water and the colors bleed pretty uncontrolled. I think it would be a good paper for one-wash sky renderings but it is a little bit complicated to add a second coat. I tried to make the best out of the picture with the building, but it became much darker than I planned it to be. The second one with the trees was a relaxed late-night painting after work. I always come back to paint trees when I really like to relax.

SONY DSC
My 26-1/31 ‪#‎worldwatercolormonth‬ //212_2016 Watercolor / Lukas Bali mould made rough – ca.40 x 30 cm / 16´x 12´ in

Ich genieße die letzte Woche des #worldwatercolormonth. Letzte Nacht habe ich diese beiden Bilder auf Lukas Bali Papier gemalt. Es waren die beiden letzten Blätter die ich davon hatte – und ich bin mir immer noch nicht sicher, ob ich das Papier liebe oder hasse. Es ist eine Art Torchon-Papier, ziemlich rau mit einer ganz netten Oberflächentextur, die sich ein wenig wie Schiefer anfühlt. Ich empfand das Malen darauf als Herausforderung, weil man sehr vorsichtig mit Wasser sein muss und die Farben relativ unkontrolliert ausbluten. Ich glaube, es wäre ein recht gutes Papier für Himmelsdarstellung, die mit einem Farbauftrag gemalt werden – das Lasieren ist auf dem Papier eher schwierig. Das Bild mit dem Gebäude war schwieriger als ich dachte, es war plötzlich viel dunkler als ursprünglich geplant. Das zweite mit den Bäumen am Ufer war eine entspannte Nach-Mitternacht-Malerei nach der Arbeit. Ich komme immer wieder auf Bäume zurück, wenn ich mich beim Malen entspannen möchte.

6 thoughts on “Day 26 #worldwatercolormonth

  1. These are wonderful….hard to pick which is my favorite….the first one is very luminous and the second, I love all the moody, rich color. I have never tried Lucas Bali paper, I don’t think that I even heard of it before….at least it keeps you on your toes! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Margaret! May be the Lukas Bali paper is not available in the USA. I guess they are better known for their watercolors, but i don´t know if their products are available in the States at all. I am very happy with their watercolors so I decided to try their paper, too. But I prefer other brands like Hahnemühle and of course (and new) Fabriano.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

