Day15 #Worldwatercolormonth – Halftime!

SONY DSC
My 15-1/31 ‪#‎worldwatercolormonth‬ //200_2016 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Mould-made rough – ca.65 x 50 cm / 25.6 x 19.7 in

After a break of a few weeks I could finally finish another larger watercolor. Although the reactions of my small audience were really positive so far I am not really satisfied with it. I think the color composition is okay but just the brushwork is not bold enough. I did not spend too much time with this painting, but it still has too many brushstrokes that are just needless. I would like to read what you think about it – and please don´t be shy in your comments.

SONY DSC
My 15-2/31 ‪#‎worldwatercolormonth‬ // 205_2016 Watercolor/ Lukas Bali mould made rough – ca.40 x 30 cm / 16´x 12´ in

The second painting for today is another late-night painting from last night. I was doodling with the pencil in my notebook at work and wanted to paint this scene at home. I am not used to this paper yet – it is a Torchon paper from the German manufacturer Lukas which is the watercolor brand I decided for , too. I think you can create wonderful textures on this paper when you are good enough – to me it is a real challenge to work on this paper, because you see any little mistakes without the chance to fix it.

SONY DSC
My 15-3/31 #worldwatercolormonth // 173_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2 x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 2x 8.3 x 5.8 in – A quick plein-air sketch before work.

This morning the sun came out and I decided to go on a bicycle-tour before I had to go to work. Not knowing if there would be enough time for painting outdoors I only took small equipment with me. At least I was able to paint this small plein-air sketch in a birch-wood in the neighborhood while having a short break.

 

Nach einer Pause von ein paar Wochen konnte ich heute endlich wieder einmal ein größeres Aquarell malen. . Obwohl die Reaktionen meiner kleinen Betrachter-Gruppe sehr positiv waren, bin ich selbst noch nicht wirklich zufrieden. Ich denke, die Farbkomposition ist okay, aber meine Pinselarbeit ist viel zu verzagt. Ich habe gar nicht so lange für das Bild gebraucht, und doch hat es viel zu viele Pinselstriche, die überflüssig sind. Ich würde gerne von Euch lesen, was ihr darüber denkt – und bei Kommentaren bitte nicht schüchtern sein.

Das zweite Bild für heute ist eine weitere Nach-Mitternacht-Malerei. Gestern habe ich bei der Arbeit etwas in meinem Notebook mit dem Bleistift ´rumgeschraffelt´ und wollte dann darauf basierend dieses Aquarell malen. Ich bin noch nicht vertraut mit diesem Papier von Lukas (deren Farben ich auch verwende) – ein Papier in Torchon Qualität. Ich denke man kann auf diesem Papier ganz wunderbare Ergebnisse erzielen, wenn man ein Könner ist – für mich war es eine echte Herausforderung, weil man wirklich jeden Fehler sieht, ohne großartige Korrekturmöglichkeiten.

Diesen Morgen kam die Sonne raus, und so beschloss ich vor der Arbeit noch eine kleine Fahrradtour in der Nachbarschaft zu machen. Ich hatte nicht viel Mal-Zeug dabei, aber für diese kleinen und schnelle Skizze bei einer kurzen Pause in einem Birkenwald hat es gereicht.

5 thoughts on “Day15 #Worldwatercolormonth – Halftime!

  1. So when you say that you feel like your brushstrokes are not bold enough are you saying to get what you want with a few brushstrokes rather than several? I think painting grasses and foliage can always make you feel like you are dabbing and brushing like crazy…..maybe the background trees surrounding the first house, I see a bit of a muddling…..but then, it looks pleasant enough. Maybe you are wanting to go in the direction of getting what you want to depict in just a few strokes and avoid the fiddling? Though I really don’t see fiddling…..I really like the economy of strokes on the lit side of the house (painting 1) being bold can be very many things…..to me it is choice of color, being more loose and abstract. Have you thought of doing an abstract approach to a painting? Like in plein air? Perhaps you just need to throw yourself out there more and have a devil may care attitude. Embrace that difficult paper, I think that having some things you just can’t control in painting puts you on that learning and growing cusp that is so difficult to get into if you stay safe. At least it is for me. I think that you are doing great and I am seeing more looseness…..you are moving towards that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Margaret. I guess what I want is the Illusion of details without painting them. Grasses blown by the wind just painted in one stroke and just appear through some left out spaces or just the shape of the brush. What I want is to paint like a master with 50 years of watercolor experience although I don´t have even 2 years of experience. Most of the time I am pretty patient with myself – but some days I see my ship sinking. 🙂 So, don´t worry – it is something you probably know, too. Something that happens to almost every artist one day. Experience too low, expectations too high!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

