Plein Air Amsterdam

CW20160703_Amsterdam
Amsterdam Centraal Station, photo taken at IJplein Pier / 2016-06-29

Here are three more watercolor sketches i could ´rescue´ from my plein air trip to Amsterdam. My Daler Rowney Graduate sketchbook was pretty messed up from the rain and it took me a while to restore these pages that were glued together. Fortunately the colors were still okay, probably because the pages had been glued together.

The first one is from `Vondel Park´, Amsterdam´s green lung and a beautiful place to relax when it is not raining. I was sitting under a large old tree while painting but after a few minutes the wind turned and blew the rain under the tree, too.

The second one i painted standing in the entrance of a house. near Staalstraat. I love all those vintage bridges and the canals that make this city so extraordinary .

The third sketch is from my new favorite location on the opposite site of the river. I discovered this place the day before taking the harbor ferry to Ijplein. The photo was taken when i came there the first time and you might realize why i was so fascinated by this view and decided to come back to paint it the next day. At the ferry pier at IJplein is a little Italian coffee bar with seats outside where i did spend a few hours of my birthday drinking the best coffee in town. I started a larger watercolor of this fascinating sight but it was completely messed up from wind and rain. But I will probably come back to this motive later.

CW20160703_Sketchbook01#‎worldwatercolormonth‬
My 3a/31 #worldwatercolormonth // 142_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2 x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 2x 8.3 x 5.8 in ´Plein Air Amsterdam Vondel Park´
CW20160703_Sketchbook02#‎worldwatercolormonth‬
My 3b/31 #worldwatercolormonth // 143_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2 x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 2x 8.3 x 5.8 in ´Plein Air Amsterdam – Old Bridge At Staal Straat´
CW20160703_Sketchbook03#‎worldwatercolormonth‬
My 3c/31 #worldwatercolormonth // 144_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2 x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 2x 8.3 x 5.8 in ´Plein Air Amsterdam – Centraal Station seen from IJplein`

Hier sind drei weitere Aquarellskizzen, die ich von meinem Plein-Air-Trip nach Amsterdam ´retten´konnte. Mein Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook war ziemlich versaut von dem Regen und es brauchte eine Weile, diese Seiten zu ´restaurieren´, denn sie waren von der Feuchtigkeit zusammengeklebt. Zum Glück waren die Farben dadurch weitestgehend unversehrt.

Die erste Skizze entstand im `Vondel Park´, Amsterdams grüner Lunge und einem wunderbaren Platz zum Ausspannen wenn es nicht regnet. Ich saß beim Malen unter einem großen alten Baum, aber nach ein paar Minuten drehte der Wind und blies den Regen auch unter den Baum.

Für die zweite Skizze stand ich geschützt im Eingang eines Wohnhauses in der Nähe der Staalstraat. Ich liebe all diese alten Brücken und Grachten, die diese Stadt so außergewöhnlich machen.

Die dritte Skizze entstand an meinem neuen Lieblingsplatz am gegenüberliegenden Flussufer. Ich habe diesen Platz am Tag zuvor entdeckt, als ich mit der Hafenfähre zum IJplein fuhr. Das Foto entstand, als ich dort zum ersten Mal hinkam, und ihr könnt vielleicht verstehen, warum mich dieses Motiv fasziniert hat und mich bewogen hat, am nächsten Tag noch einmal zurückzukommen um es zu malen. Direkt am Fähranleger befindet sich eine kleine italienisches Cafe mit einigen Sitzgelegenheiten draußen, wo ich einige Stunden meines Geburtstags verbracht habe – mit dem besten Kaffee der Stadt. Ich begann auch ein größeres Aquarell, aber das ist wegen Wind und extrem starkem Regen total misslungen. Aber ich werde mir dieses Motiv sicher zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt noch einmal vornehmen.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Plein Air Amsterdam

    1. I hope you changed Amsterdam for another great place. I really love this beautiful city and it is always a pleasure to be there – even with heavy rain. I am lucky that it is only a 2.5 hour bus-trip from here. For me Amsterdam is the living capital of Europe and always worth a trip. I am so glad that I could bring you some good memories with my little sketches.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Aletha. It was probably the best way I could celebrate my birthday – off from everything else but painting and relaxing. Only the weather could have been a little bit better. But I don´t like to complain – I am always happy to be there

      Like

    1. The little Italian coffee booth on the other side of the river was indeed a great new discovery. There is nothing better than a good coffee and a grand view! My colors are more wishful thinking – it has been pretty gray during the day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

