Plein Air Amsterdam Nieuwmarkt

CW20160702_Sketchbook01#‎worldwatercolormonth‬
My 2/31 ‪#‎worldwatercolormonth‬ // 141_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in ´Plein Air Amsterdam Nieuwmarkt´

It has been raining so much during my short trip to Amsterdam that it was really hard to follow my plan to paint plein air there all the time. This is a rough sketch of the old building called the Waag that dominates the Nieuwmarkt in Amsterdam. I could only get some bold outlines before i had to look for shelter in a  cafe´ nearby and painted the rest pretty bold while enjoying a `koffie verkeerd´. At least i could see the structure i was painting from this sheltered place and the boldness of the painting is something i like about it.

Es hat derartig viel geregnet als ich in Amsterdam war, dass es etwas schwierig wurde, meinem Plan zu folgen, dort die ganze Zeit draußen zu malen. Bei dieser groben Skizze des alten Gebäudes namens `De Waag`, das den Nieuwmarkt in Amsterdam dominiert, konnte ich nur schnell die Umrisse aufs Papier bringen, bevor ich mich in ein Cafe in der Nähe ´flüchten´musste, um es dort bei einem `koffie verkeerd´fertigzustellen. Zumindest konnte ich von meinem regengeschützten Platz aus das Gebäude noch sehen. Die Grobheit der Skizze, die dem schlechten Wetter geschuldet ist, mag ich im Nachhinein ganz gern.

Leave a Reply

