Railay, Krabi. Thailand.

CW20160624_Sketchbook02
129_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in ´Railay, Krabi. Thailand II´

Yesterday the temperatures here were suddenly rising to tropical heat. I enjoy this kind of weather, especially after all those cold and rainy days during the rest of June. While I was having my lunch (a Thai rice soup) on my balcony I remembered my first trip to Thailand which brought me, beside some other fascinating locations, to Railey Beach in the Krabi district in the South. When these rocks appeared at the horizon while we came closer with the longboat i really fell in love with the beauty of Thailand´s landscape.  I looked through some of my photographs from my trip and decided that these impressive rocks would be a nice subject for watercolor practicing.

CW20160624_Sketchbook03
130_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in ´Railay, Krabi. Thailand III´

Als ich gestern mittag in der schwülen Hitze auf dem Balkon meine thailändische Reissuppe genossen habe, erinnerte ich mich an meinen ersten Trip nach Thailand. Als damals das Longboat auf diese Felsen zufuhr, war es um mich geschehen. Leider ist das schon viel zu lange her! Ja, manchmal habe ich ein wenig Fernweh! Ich habe mir ein paar alte Fotos von meinem Trip angeschaut und dachte, dass diese eindrucksvollen Felsen ein gutes Motiv zum Üben sein könnten.

CW20160624_Sketchbook01
128_2016 Watercolor-Sketches / Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2 x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 2x 8.3 x 5.8 in ´Railay, Krabi. Thailand I´ – The initial sketch.
9 thoughts on “Railay, Krabi. Thailand.

  1. These are so wonderful and the fact that you have been to Thailand….I have always wanted to go and see what it is like and eat the food! yum! My favorite one is #2 the composition and there is a sensitivity and light touch on the washes. I always love your bold washes but on this particular one, a light sensitive touch was perfect! I agree with Aletha….you do have a tropical feel with your colors, I say do more…..I’ll patiently wait…lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can really recommend to visit Thailand – it is such a beautiful country. Most impressive i found my trip to Northern Thailand where started several trips through the highlands starting from the beautiful city Chiang Mai – although i love the Thai cuisine at any location in Thailand i thought it was most delicious in the North, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

