Trinidad, North California

CW20160623_Sketchbook01
126_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in

Last night i remembered Margaret Parker Brown´s beautiful plein air pastel of a costal scene from Trinidad, North California. I have not been at this place myself yet, so I decided to have a look at it on Google – and inspired by Margaret´s painting and the views I did find online I painted these sketches in my sketchbooks just for practicing. And again, like I did the day before, I started with 2 minute watercolors of different scenes to warm up.

CW20160623_Sketchbook02
127_2016 Watercolor-Sketches / Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 2 x 21,0 x 14,9 cm / 2x 8.3 x 5.8 in

Letzten Abend erinnerte ich mich an Margaret Parker Browns schönes Plein Air Pastell von einer Küstenszene aus Trinidad, Nord-Kalifornien. Ich bin bislang nicht selbst an diesem Ort gewesen, und so beschloss ich, neugierig wie ich bin, und inspiriert von Margarets Bild und den Fotos die ich online finden konnte, diese Skizzen in meine Skizzenbücher zur Übung zu malen. Und wieder, wie auch schon am Tag zuvor, habe ich mich erst einmal mit 2 Minuten Aquarellen von anderen Motiven „warm gemacht“.

CW20160623_2 minute sketch15
188_2016 Watercolor/Guardi artistico Postkarte – 14,8 x 10,6 cm – 2 minute sketch 16
CW20160623_2 minute sketch17
189_2016 Watercolor/Guardi artistico Postkarte – 14,8 x 10,6 cm – 2 minute sketch 17
7 thoughts on “Trinidad, North California

  1. So funny because when I first saw that rock, I was thinking it looks like “Grandmother Rock” I have painted that rock a few times…..so neat! You did a wonderful job and if you ever want to use any of my photos or paintings of the area, let me know, I have a lot of them! You get a lot done in 2 minutes! I need to try this out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Margaret! It would be really interesting to have some good reference photos – this place seems to be magic and when i ever come back to California i´d rather like to visit. And I would rather like to see your other paintings of this place, too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

