Autosuggestion & Watercolors

 

CW20160619_Sketchbook03
117_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in ´Imaginary landscape´ , inspired by Wolfgang Haffner´s beautiful album `Round Silence´ (2009)

I listen to a lot of music while i am painting, but i never tried to get the inspiration from the music directly – until yesterday. I just wanted to relax a little bit and listend to the Wolgang Haffner´s wonderful record `Round Silence`(2009), closed my eyes and suddenly imagined a landscape. I thought: Carsten, you should try to paint that! I started the music from the beginning again and tried to bring this landscape from my imagination to the paper. It was a magic moment! The first attempt ´117_2016 Watercolor-Sketches´ made me want to try this a little bit more. Listening to the music with concentration and closed eyes and trying to imagine a picture. When i listened to Gregory Porter singing ´Painted on canvas´ i thought this tune would be a good one for trying this experiment again.  I decided to try to imagine a landscape again although there were some other images appearing first. This approach might sound stupid to some people, but i am pretty much into auto suggestion, autogenic training and other relaxation techniques anyway. In combination with watercolor painting it is a whole new experience. I will try this more often from now on.

CW20160619_Sketchbook05
119_2016 Watercolor-Sketches /Marabu Mixed Media 21,0 x 14,8 cm / 8.3 x 5.8 in ´Imaginary landscape II´ – inspired by Gregory Porter´s music.

Ich höre sehr viel Musik, während ich male, aber ich habe nie versucht, mich direkt von der Musik inspirieren zu lassen – bis gestern. Während ich ein bisschen entspannen wollte und die wunderbare  Platte `Round Silence´ (2009)  von Wolfgang Haffner gehört habe, schloss ich die Augen und hatte plötzlich eine Landschaft vor Augen. Ich dachte mir, das musst du malen! Ich hörte mir die Musik noch einmal von Anfang an an während ich versuchte, die Landschaft, die in meiner Phantasie entstanden war, aufs Papier zu bringen. Das war schon ein magischer Moment! Der erste Versuch ´117_2016 Watercolor Sketches´motivierte mich, es später noch einmal zu versuchen. Konzentriert, mit geschlossenen Augen der Musik zu lauschen und zu versuchen, mir ein Bild dazu vorzustellen. Auch wenn erst einige andere Bilder Auftauchten, als ich Gregory Porter´s ´Painted on canvas´ hörte, versuchte ich mir eine weitere Landschaft dazu vorzustellen. Dieser Ansatz mag sich für einige Leute total bekloppt anhören, aber ich beschäftige mich ohnehin sehr viel mit Auto Suggestion, Autogenem Training und anderen Entspannungsmethoden. In Verbindung mit Aquarellmalen war das eine komplett neue und tolle Erfahrung. Ich werde das zukünftig noch öfter versuchen.

8 thoughts on “Autosuggestion & Watercolors

    1. Thanks so much, Margaret!!! 🙂 It does not sound stupid to us because we know about the benefits of these techniques. But sometimes when i tell people about my good experience with autosuggestion techniques i am able to see in their face how they think `Freak!´ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ich höre auch oft Musik, wenn ich male. Und ich glaube, das macht wirklich einen Unterschied. Der Rhythmus lässt sich tatsächlich von der Musik in den visuellen Bereich übertragen. Dann “swingt” das Aquarell.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

