Morning Watercolor Session

CW20160608_Path in the forest
168_2016 Watercolor / Hahnemühle Mould-made rough – ca.65 x 50 cm / 25.6 x 19.7 in – `Path in the forest´/ Carsten Wieland

This was fun!!! The weather was great this morning. So I decided to stand up early and have my coffee with a painting session on my balcony. And I finally did feel for testing my new watercolors – Lukas Aquarell 1862. Great! Absolutely great! These colors are the best I have been painting with for a long time. The pigments are great and very fine, the color intensity is great and they mix up real nice on the paper. I took some photos from my morning-session – so you can join me painting. 🙂

Das war Spaß! Das Wetter war ganz großartig heute Morgen. So habe ich beschlossen, früh aufzustehen, meinen Kaffee auf dem Balkon zu genießen und dabei zu malen. Und ich bin endlich dazu gekommen, meine neuen Aquarellfarben zu testen – Lukas Aquarell 1862. Toll! Wirklich toll! Diese Farben sind so ziemlich das Beste, mit dem ich in der letzten Zeit gemalt habe. Die Pigmente sind sehr schön fein, die Farbintensität sehr brilliant und sie mischen sich ganz wunderbar auf dem Papier. Ich habe ein paar Fotos von meiner morgendlichen Mal-Session gemacht – so können wir zusammen malen. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Morning Watercolor Session

  1. What size and type of brush are you using for the small branches on the trees? I love all of your paintings. I’m glad you’re enjoying your new watercolors. 🙂

    Like

      1. Thanks! I’m starting to learn more about different brushes and how to use them. I think, as a general rule, it’s usually good to use the largest brush that works for a particular area…at least, that’s the approach I’m trying. Of course, there really are no “rules” — general or otherwise. I do have problems getting fine lines when I’m painting trees. My “twigs” end up as thick as the branches. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I did try a lot of other brushes before i finally decided to buy a mop brush. My painting experience changed completely with it – in a good way. You are right: there are no rules in painting. But using the biggest brush you can get makes watercolor-painting `effortless ´in a wonderful way.

        Like

  2. love your paintings… just found you recently… wish you would do some videos for us of you painting….. doesn’t have to be anything fancy …. would just love to see how you do those big washes. I am a beginning painter.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really wonderful to see your set up and the step-by-step sequence. And even the cup of coffee, too! I look forward to your making that video. Your large paintings have so much freedom — every bit as much as the small ones. And the scenes you paint have so much splendor and energy and beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much , Alteha!!! 🙂 I am so glad you like my little photos -set. The large format gives a lot of freedom, indeed. But i have to practice more, because it is more difficult to keep the composition together . On the other hand it is easier to hide mistakes in the painting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

