Night shift II / Nachtschicht II

SONY DSC
160_2016 Watercolor/ Hahnemühle Echt Bütten rau – ca.40 x 30 cm. Nächtliche Übung.

Another night-shift. I think I was too tired from the night before to paint something good – but I wanted to try at least. No, I am not really satisfied with last night´s results, but it did keep me awake and the brush going. Now I have two days off – one of them is for sleeping, the other one for painting – hopefully.

The first painting started out pretty good in the beginning but I lost it, after some phone-calls had to be answered. First I had it reduced to some clear shapes, but when I came back to it I made some mistakes with putting in details too early. Another problem was that I did paint on some less rough papers lately. The mold-made paper I used here is completely different to paint with. It is really soaking up water (and color) and I always have some difficulties when I come back to it. Anyway – it still was a good practice and there are worse things to get through the night shift.

The other three are these little postcard-size exercices again: 10 minutes time-limit / big brush. I like the results better than the larger painting.

Now I really have to sleep! Good night.

CW20160530_Nachtschicht02
161_2016 Watercolor/Guardi artistico Postkarte –  10,6 x  14,8 cm – Minimalistische Nachtübung mit großem Pinsel auf kleinem Format 1.

Noch eine Nachtschicht. Ich glaube, ich war eigentlich von der Nacht davor noch zu müde  zum Malen – aber ich wollte es zumindest versuchen. Nein, ich bin nicht wirklich zufrieden mit den Resultaten der letzten Nacht, aber zumindest hat mich das Malen wachgehalten und den Pinsel in Bewegung. Jetzt habe ich erst einmal zwei Tage frei – einer zum Schlafen, der andere hoffentlich zum Malen.

Das erste Bild ließ sich eigentlich ganz gut an, aber irgendwie ist es mir entglitten, nach dem ein paar Anrufe reinkamen, die ich beantworten musste. Zunächst war es mir ganz gut gelungen, das Bild in einige klare Formen zu gliedern, aber als ich dann weitermalen konnte, habe ich mich verhaspelt und zu früh begonnen, irgendwelche überflüssigen Details hinein zu malen. Außerdem habe ich der letzten Zeit hauptsächlich auf wesentlich glatterem Papier gearbeitet. Ich mag zwar dieses Büttenpapier von Hahnemühle eigentlich sehr gerne, aber ich brauche immer einige Versuche, bis ich gut damit klar komme, denn es saugt das Wasser und die Farbe viel stärker auf, als die glatteren Papiere. Trotzdem war es eine gute Übung (jede Übung ist gut J ) und hat mir geholfen, die lange Nacht im menschenleeren Büro etwas zu verkürzen.

Die anderen 3 Bilder sind wieder diese kleinen Übungen im Postkartenformat: 10 Minuten Zeitlimit – großer Pinsel. Die Resultate gefallen mir besser als das größere Bild.

So, den Montag werde ich wohl verschlafen. Gute Nacht

CW20160530_Nachtschicht03
162_2016 Watercolor/Guardi artistico Postkarte – 14,8 x 10,6 cm – Minimalistische Nachtübung mit großem Pinsel auf kleinem Format 2.
CW20160530_Nachtschicht04
163_2016 Watercolor/Guardi artistico Postkarte – 14,8 x 10,6 cm – Minimalistische Nachtübung mit großem Pinsel auf kleinem Format 3.
8 thoughts on “Night shift II / Nachtschicht II

  1. You certainly paint beautiful things even when you are distracted by telephone calls. I really love the tree and the scene of the open gate, but they are all lovely in different ways. The first version of the house is a wonderfully moody image. I understand that you believe it didn’t come off right, but you know things about your intentions that the spectator cannot know about. It has an interesting drama and pull.

    But the open gate is my favorite. So much captured by the most economical and dramatic lines and washes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Aletha. You are probably right, that the spectator does not know my intentions when looking at my watercolors. In most cases i am just not satisfied with some technical aspects of my paintings (something became too bright, too dark, using too many brushstrokes etc. ). But this is some struggle I fight with myself and belongs to the ´learning lessons ´ part.

      Like

Leave a Reply

