Die erste Seite / The first page

CW20160530_Sketchbook01
075_2016 Watercolor-Sketches / Daler-Rowney Graduate Sketchbook, 21,0 x 14,9 cm – First page of my June-Sketchbook.

Die erste Seite eines neuen Skizzenbuchs ist immer etwas Besonderes für mich. Mit dieser Skizze starte ich mein Skizzenbuch für den Juni. Meine Skizzenbücher sind für mich Tagebuch-Ersatz. Das erste Jahr, nachdem ich zurück zur Aquarellmalerei gefunden habe, habe ich fast ausschließlich in meine Skizzenbücher gemalt. Jeden Monat ein neues und jeden Tag mindestens eine Aquarellskizze. Es hat etwas sehr befreiendes für mich. Es ist egal, ob ich `Fehler`mache – es ist halt so wie es ist. Oft bin ich mit meinen kleinen Aquarellskizzen viel glücklicher, als mit den Resultaten, die beim Malen auf das ´richtige Papier´ entstehen. Sie sind meist spontaner, dynamischer und lebhafter. Ich blättere immer wieder gerne durch die Seiten der älteren Skizzenbücher und stelle fest, ich habe in den letzten Monaten viel gelernt und mich entwickelt.

The first page of a new sketchbook is always something special for me. With this sketch I start my sketchbook for June. My sketchbooks work for me as a diary. During the first year after I came back to painting with watercolors I did nothing else than paint into my sketchbooks. A new one for every month and at least one sketch every day. It has something releasing for me. It does not matter if I make ´mistakes´- it is what it is. Most often i am much happier with my little sketches than with the results of painting on ´real watercolor paper´. The sketches seem to be more spontaneous, more dynamic and more lively. I like to browse through the pages of my older sketchbooks and realize that i did learn something and developed during the past months.

6 thoughts on “Die erste Seite / The first page

  1. This tree is magical. What a marvelous beginning for your notebook, to have such a beginning. The dynamism of the treetop and the earth, held together by the tree trunk — it is very spiritual. And that bit of the sun that appears — wow. Just wow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just noticed that wonderful line of yellow/gold behind the fence, how it marries up with the yellow in the sky….wonderful! I totally love your color choices and I agree with Aletha (I have been following you, Aletha in your comments!) about the spirituality of this painting. Carsten you have such an unique style that speaks volumes of spirituality and feeling. Not all painters have that but you sure do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Margaret. I think painting should be something spiritual – when ever i am able to forget about techniques and just feel close with the paper, the brush, the colors and the water – then it really is a spiritual moment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

