Freezing pond

cw20161129_watercolor01
240_2016 Watercolor / Arches rough – ca. 76 x 56 cm / 29.9 x 22.0 in / Lukas Aquarell 1862

I woke up early this morning with the sun shining through my window and did feel motivated enough to start a full sheet version of my sketch from Sunday. I did paint the first wash with a huge paint brush that is normally used for painting furniture, which did work pretty good on the rough Arches paper. For the following  washes and details I came back to my watercolor brushes (Flat and Mop, and a fine rigger brush for tree-branches).  I enjoyed my coffee while the first wash was drying a little bit and painted the rest in about one hour. This was definitely fun to paint.

Ich bin heute Morgen früh aufgewacht – bei herrlichem Sonnenschein fühlte ich mich gleich motiviert genug, um eine großformatige Version meiner Skizze von Sonntag zu malen. Den ersten Wash habe ich mal mit einem größeren Lackierpinsel gemalt, wie man ihn eigentlich zum Streichen von Möbeln verwendet. Das funktionierte ganz gut auf dem rauen Arches-Papier. Für die folgenden Schritte bin ich dann wieder auf meine Aquarellpinsel zurückgekommen. (Flach-, Verwasch- und Schlepperpinsel). Ich genoss meinen Kaffee, während der erste Wash etwas trocknete und habe dann den Rest des Bildes in etwa einer Stunde gemalt. Es hat definitiv großen Spaß gemacht.

6 thoughts on “Freezing pond

Leave a comment